Discussion topic: Sky Glass calibrated MEASURED settings

This message was authored by BigBri165 This message was authored by: BigBri165

Sky Glass calibrated MEASURED settings

In a past life I was a THX certified calibration tech. I retrieved my old kit from the loft and thought I would see what I could with my Glass 65".

I will post the settings later but if you want to use them please feel free but remember every set and room is different so they may not work for you.

Things I discovered in no particular order- 

It's not possible to set the contrast correctly due to limitations of the panel. Playing with the backlight/contrast settings made no difference. So I measured the light coming out for best measurement.

There are different settings for each picture mode. If you calibrate in HD, these settings will all be reset in HDR or Dolby Vision. This is a GOOD thing. I've yet to calibrate any HDR modes as yet. Will hopefully look at this later today.

The white balance and cms are surprisingly responsive. Changing them does make a difference.

Biggest issue I find is light bleeding into the black bars on a film in the scope aspect. Some of the worst I've seen to be honest and makes watching in darkness impossible. Some ambient light of to each side side hides it a little.

The readings will be posted later when I get home but they did improve the picture as I was getting a green tinge in the lighter colours. Adjusting the white balance with a metre had gotten shot of that.

Still have work to do on it and I don't want to post half cocked results so watch this space.

Best Answers
BigBri165
Topic Author
This message was authored by BigBri165 This message was authored by: BigBri165 Answer

Re: Sky Glass calibrated MEASURED settings

Measurements for HD/SD as follows:

Auto back-light off

Back-light 75-80. Adjust if you find the image to dark 

Aspect ratio auto

HDR/DV pic mode dark

Contrast 46

Sharpness 0

Brightness 51

Colour 55

Hue 50

White balance